March 28 Unplanned Outage
Incident Report for Anaplan
Postmortem

On 29th March, 2019, 02:44am UTC (28th March, 2019, 7:44pm PDT), Anaplan engineers were alerted to an issue which caused Anaplan to become inaccessible to all users. The issue was caused by a hardware failure, which automatically initiated our failover migration. Unfortunately, during the migration the platform remained unavailable for users, with the exception of those users already interacting with open models. Our monitoring systems showed that platform service was restored at 03:10am UTC (8:10pm PDT). There were a sub-set of features and functionality that took longer to recover and were fully restored by 04:30am UTC (9:30pm PDT).

Anaplan platform downtime will be reported as 26 minutes. This is based on platform accessibility and may vary due to availability of specific features.

We have escalated the hardware failure as a top priority and are working quickly to mitigate risk of future recurrences. We are also reviewing our migration process to identify improvements to restore service more swiftly. As part of our commitment to continually improve our incident response process, we will work to provide more timely notifications, giving you more transparency and clarity in the future.

We understand the impact to you and your business and sincerely apologize for the disruption of service. Thank you for being a valued Anaplan customer.

Posted 5 months ago. Apr 01, 2019 - 14:06 PDT

Resolved
Our engineers have restored service and is now accessible. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that this issues may have caused and appreciate your patience while we hastily work to provide a comprehensive outline of the root cause. Root cause analysis will be posted to this page as soon as it is available. If you have any further questions or if you continue to receive an error, please contact us at support@anaplan.com.
Posted 5 months ago. Mar 28, 2019 - 21:00 PDT
Monitoring
A fix has been implemented and we are monitoring the results.
Posted 5 months ago. Mar 28, 2019 - 20:32 PDT
Update
We are continuing to investigate this issue.
Posted 5 months ago. Mar 28, 2019 - 20:27 PDT
Investigating
We are currently receiving reports of customers not being able to access Anaplan. Our engineers are aware and are actively investigating these reports. An update will be provided on this page as soon as more information is available. If you have any questions regarding this, please contact us at support@anaplan.com. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and appreciate your patience while we work to resolve any issues.
Posted 5 months ago. Mar 28, 2019 - 20:21 PDT